Verizon copper retirement, state by state.
Publishing location-specific 2026 copper-retirement notices across multiple states through its public disclosure pages.
Below is what Critical Line currently tracks from Verizon's public network-disclosure pages: notice counts by state, the soonest effective dates we can see, and a link to each original filing.
Source: Verizon network disclosures →
What we track for Verizon right now.
Counted from Verizon’s own public network disclosures. Timelines vary by service and location, and a filing can be amended or withdrawn.
What this does, and does not, mean.
Carrier transition activity detected in or relevant to this market.
This does not by itself establish that your specific line will be disconnected. A Critical Line Assessment can verify the service and dependency.
Network-change and copper-retirement filings are not the same thing as a service-discontinuance event. What a filing does establish is that the window to identify your dependencies is closing.
Verizon's disclosures are detailed enough that we publish our own plain-English summary beside the facts, with the official filing linked so you can read the source yourself.
- 01Which carriers serve each property, and on what services
- 02Whether any notice names your state, market or wire center
- 03Which critical endpoints ride on the affected services
- 04What deadlines, inspections or rate changes are attached
- 05Which migrations need to happen first, and who must be involved
Verizon notices by state.
A state appears here because at least one Verizon filing names it. The date column is the soonest effective date still ahead of us in that state, taken from the filing itself.
A further 14 Verizon filings name a footprint or facility rather than a single state, so they are counted in the totals above but cannot be placed on this table.
Most recent Verizon filings.
Each entry links to the original document on the carrier’s own disclosure site. Where our source terms allow a link but not a restatement, we publish the facts and the link, and nothing else.
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Dec 10, 2026
Verizon New Jersey intends to decommission copper facilities across 62 wire centers on or after December 10, 2026, requiring customers and interconnecting carriers to transition to alternative solutions such as VoIP or wireless services.
Replacement noted: VoIP, fixed wireless, mobile wireless
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Dec 10, 2026
On or after December 10, 2026, Verizon New England plans to retire copper facilities at all remaining locations across seven Rhode Island wire centers, requiring affected customers and interconnecting entities to migrate from legacy TDM and SS7 services to alternative VoIP, wireline, or wireless options.
Replacement noted: VoIP, fixed wireless, mobile wireless, wireline
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Dec 10, 2026
On or after December 10, 2026, Verizon Virginia LLC plans to retire copper facilities at all remaining locations across 211 wire centers throughout Virginia. Affected customers and interconnecting carriers will need to transition to alternative services such as VoIP, cable, or fixed and mobile wireless options.
Replacement noted: VoIP, cable, fixed wireless, mobile wireless
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon published a network change notice regarding copper retirement in South Carolina under notice identifier 2026-03-A-SC.
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon published a network change notice announcing the retirement of copper facilities across wire centers in Ohio under notice ID 2026-03-A-OH.
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Dec 10, 2026
Verizon subsidiaries operating under Frontier and Navajo brand names will retire copper facilities across 59 wire centers in Arizona on or after December 10, 2026. Affected customers and interconnecting carriers must migrate services to alternatives such as VoIP, cable, or wireless services prior to retirement.
Replacement noted: VoIP, cable, fixed wireless, mobile wireless
- Notice date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon announced a copper retirement network change in Utah wire centers under notice ID 2026-03-A-UT.
- Notice date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon has issued a planned network change notice regarding the retirement of the ST switch in Attleboro, Massachusetts.
- Notice date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon has issued a notice regarding planned network changes involving the retirement of a switch in Braintree, Massachusetts.
- Notice date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon announced planned network changes regarding the retirement of the ST switch located in the Selden, New York wire center.
- Notice date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon announced planned network changes involving the retirement of the ST switch located in Burlington, Massachusetts.
- Notice date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Proposed effective
- Not stated
Verizon issued a planned network change notice regarding a switch retirement at its Kendall Square wire center in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Is my market affected?
We'll help translate what a notice means for your property.